Keeping up with digital preservation

Hello readers!

Much has happened in the month since I posted last. My fellow residents and I have been busy attending conferences, participating in events both on-site and off, planning for future presentations, and working hard on our projects.

I feel that my project is in a good place with using web statistics to help us understand the scope of existing state publications and using that to define a collection policy. The team at the State Library has been wonderfully supportive and collaborative, and I feel very lucky to be working with them. I hope in a month or two, I will have a clear definition of what state publications are available through the State Library’s DSpace repository to share with you here.

The residents and I met this week to participate in a discussion with Nancy and Andrea, our program coordinators and the hosts at MIT and Harvard. We talked about preservation storage and protection, as well as what activities we are engaged in as part of our professional development. It was a reminder of how many opportunities exist to get involved in the field—a nice problem to have!

I started thinking about some of the ways in which I keep up with developments and news in the field of archives and digital preservation, and I thought I’d share some of those here. I’d also love to hear what kinds of ways you all engage with the profession; I’m sure there are so many I am leaving off my list.

Here are some of the methods I use to stay current:

Conferences

  • Some of the conferences my fellow residents and I have attended or are planning to attend include: NDSA-New England, iPres, ALA-Midwinter, Code4Lib, New England Code4Lib, regional conferences/annual meetings, Archiving 2016, DPLAfest, SAA

Webinars/Classes/Continuing Education

  • We’re lucky to participate in webinars as part of the residency, with a webinar led by Nancy McGovern and a group discussion facilitated by Nancy and Andrea Goethals. There are also great webinars offered by NISO, SAA, NEDCC, continuing education programs (e.g., Simmons here in Boston), and more!

Blogs

Listservs: I know there are some mixed feelings about listservs, but I really enjoy the digests. I like that there is a communal feel, and that there is a resource that allows you to engage with professionals outside of your institutions and region. I imagine it is especially useful for those lone arrangers out there.

  • I subscribe to the following listservs: SAA Electronic Records, SAA Preservation, SAA Web Archiving, SAA SNAP, SAA Women Archivists, Western Archivists, Archives & Archivists, ALA Digipres.

Twitter: I love Twitter as a means for engaging in brief, quick updates on what’s new and current in the field.

  • I follow a number of librarians, archivists, and institutions, who frequently post about their collections, projects, and programs. They also usually post URLs to articles, conferences, webinars, etc. that keep me up-to-date.
  • I also like the way that some roundtables/groups use Twitter to engage with their community, such as SNAP’s use of “SNAPchats”. Using a shared hashtag, SNAP facilitates discussions around relatable topics and creates an open forum for conversation through Twitter.
  • We also know that conferences now have hashtags they adopt so you can follow a conference from afar. This is a great way to get a sneak peek at what’s happening.

Other ideas that come to mind include volunteering, taking tours, participating on panels, or other social media platforms. Please share the other ways in which you keep up with what’s new and exciting—I’d love to add to this list.

Lastly, a very Happy Thanksgiving to you all! Give your family, friends, pets, and food a little extra love this year—I think we could all use it!

Stefanie

Leave a Reply

